2018 Radio Mercury Awards Winners Announced

Winners for the 2018 Radio Mercury Awards were announced Thursday night at the 27th annual awards presentation held in New York City. This year’s $50,000 Best of Show award was split between FCB Chicago (pictured here) for their “Tours” Radio Flyer Campaign and Fitzco//Casanova McCann for their “Share A Coke 1,000 Name Celebration” Campaign.
“We were really torn over this classic incredibly creative storytelling for Radio Flyer and then this innovative and exciting use of the medium for Coke,” noted Sean Bryan, chief judge and co-chief creative officer, McCann NY. “Splitting the Best of Show award is the best option with a nod to the heart of the medium, and a wink to the future.”
“This was a fantastic year for radio creative. Our two Best of Show winners, along with all of tonight’s winners, showcase radio’s ability to share creative stories that encapsulate a brand’s message, and use the medium in a multi-platform environment, much like how consumers digest media and advertising today,” said Erica Farber, president and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau and chair of the Radio Creative Fund.
This year’s Radio Marketer of the Year Award was presented to Comcast’s Xfinity. rad
The ceremony was hosted by the radio team of Sherman & Tingle from Hubbard Radio’s 97.1 The Drive WDRV in Chicago.
The event was produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau and presented by Hubbard Radio in partnership with iHeartMedia. Other broadcast sponsors included: Alpha Media, Beasley Broadcasting, Bonneville International, CBS News Radio, Cherry Creek Radio, Cox Media Group, The Cromwell Group, Emmis Communications, Entercom Communications, Forcht Broadcasting, Katz Radio Group, Miller, Kaplan, Arase LLP, Neuhoff Media, Nielsen Audio, Salem Communications, Skyview Networks, Townsquare Media, Triton Digital, United Stations Radio Networks, vCreative, WBEBMoreFM, Westwood One, and WideOrbit.